interzioq #1: Jack Odell’s interview – PONCHO Original Soundtrack

poncho soundtrack

Hello what’s your name and how do you feel right now?
Hi, I’m Jack Odell and I’m feeling pretty chill. 🙂

Anything else about you that you’d like to share (age, country, favorite food, shoe size, etc.)?
Sure, I’m 25, live in the UK, I love video games and all kinds of electronic music.

What’s your last release and do you have something special to say about it?
My latest music release is the soundtrack to PONCHO, a game me and my friend/colleague Danny Hayes have been working on for a few years now. It’s pretty cool! 😀

What software, gear, setup, etc. do you use to make music? 
I Use Logic Pro X (on an iMac) I mainly use the software synths that come with Logic Pro, but sometimes dabble with NI Massive. The rest of my setup is pretty simple: MIDI keyboard, DT 990 Pro headphones.

How would you describe your music, with words? 
My music is pretty game-y. I like the aesthetic of retro game console sounds like the SNES, so I use a lot of synths in my work. I rarely record live music. Maybe Neo-Retro? If that doesn’t sound too cheesy, haha.

What inspires you? 
Other video game composers music, sometimes I’ll play around with synths for a bit till I find a sound that sound that I can work off of. A lot of the time, when I work on a project, the art/visuals, especially in games, informs a lot of the decisions I make on how a track will sound, then I just go from there. It’s a lot of trail and error.

Any musician, famous or not, we should check? 
Disasterpeace is amazing, definitely go check out his work. Also Toby Fox just put out a game called Undertale, which he also wrote the soundtrack to, and that is really amazing so go check out the Undertale OST.

Tell us about a movie, a book or a video game you liked recently…
I’d have to recommend Undertale again, it has such a cool vibe, really reminds me of Earthbound. Just has a lot of personality.

Please describe your actual haircut. 
Short.

Any other links you’d like to share here(youtube, twitter, etc.)? 

Yeah, go check out PONCHO, we just released it on STEAM and PS4 and the soundtrack is up on my Bandcamp page, along with some other stuff: https://jackodell.bandcamp.com
And you can always follow me on twitter @jack_odell


Interview by izioq

Leave a Reply

