Interzioq #5: Slime Girls interview – YUMEMI​/​LONELY PLANET GIRL

a1835785925_10.jpg

Hello what’s your name and how do you feel right now?
My name is Pedro Silva and I just woke up so I’m feeling hungry and a lil bit tired.

Anything else about you that you’d like to share (age, country, favorite food, shoe size, etc.)?
I’m 25, from the USA, my favorite food is curry or carnitas, shoe size is 10.5. I like cats more than dogs, waterslides more than rollercoasters and I like juice a lot.

What’s your last release and do you have something special to say about it?
My last release was a vinyl double single for YUMEMI/LONELY PLANET GIRL. That vinyl release was a LONG time in the making and both of those songs were probably about a year old by the time the release finally came out. I’m happy with it though! My friend OMOCAT did the album art and my friend Bob from Shinobu released it through his label and also played bass on it. How fun.

What software, gear, setup, etc. do you use to make music?
I mostly just use Reason 8 these days with a bunch of samples and stuff I’ve collected over the years, and then a fender mustang. That’s kinda… it.
For live shows we either do a full band setup with an iPod and then for solo shows I like just having a big table full of instruments and MIDI controllers that I can mess around with for the whole set.

How would you describe your music, with words?
Memories of fantasy. And maybe sometimes reality.

What inspires you?
City pop, playstation beaches and n64 skies, raw earnesty.

Any musician, famous or not, we should check?
Everyone should know the words to あいどんわなだい by Ging Nang Boyz so they can sing it with me at shows. That’s all I ask. It’s the most important song in the world.

Tell us about a movie, a book or a video game you liked recently…
I recently played through Undertale and it’s probably the most significantly important video game I’ve played…like..maybe ever? I dunno, it’s perfectly up my alley for what I want out of the medium. I suggest everyone go buy it and support it! I even covered a song from it a couple weeks ago, its on my soundcloud.

Please describe your actual haircut.
Kei from Dirty Pair.

Any other links you’d like to share here(youtube, twitter, etc.)?
You can buy my music at slimegirls.bandcamp.com
Listen to all my music at https://soundcloud.com/slime-girls
Follow me on twitter @slimegirls
Like me on facebook at: www.facebook.com/slimegirls

Interview by izioq.

Leave a Reply

